elvisbreakfastkatrina

Molasses Sultana Bread

In Baking, Bread, Cake on July 23, 2012 at 3:08 am

Ok, so this is yet another bread recipe – I know, I know. But this is more like a cake or a tea bread. I found the recipe when I first got into cooking, when I was about 13 or 14. I was particularly fond of it and have always loved molasses, yet I have not made this for a few years. I only unearthed it when looking through one of my scrapbook cookbooks made from magazine clippings from around the same period. So when molasses was on special last week, I knew molasses bread would be on the menu!

(Also apologies for the formal language but my apostrophe and backspace keys on my keyboard are not working)

From memory, the recipe originated from the NZ Home & Garden magazine.

500g sultanas (add more or less to suit taste – I bet dates would be great too)

1/2 cup soft brown sugar or cane sugar

1/4 cup (approx.) blackstrap molasses

1 cup water

fine grated zest of 1/2 an orange

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 1/2 cups sifted flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

 

Preheat oven to 170 degrees celsius (though I have used 180 degrees and that works too). Grease and line either 3 mini loaf tins or one moderate loaf tin, which is what I use. Place the sugar, molasses, sultanas, water and orange zest in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil,  simmer for 5 minutes. Remove from the heat and cool for around 10 minutes. Add the beaten egg and fold in the sifted flour and baking soda. Divide mixture between tins or to the one tin. Bake until cooked through and an inserted skewer comes out clean and loaf sounds hollow when tapped. The original recipe suggests only 20 minutes baking (which may well be appropriate for cooking miniloaves) but I left mine in the oven for a good 50 minutes. It is very easy be deceived into thinking the loaf is cooked when actually it is still quite liquid in the middle! That said, once cooked – serve warm with butter or margarine. Perfect for those wintery evenings!

  1. […] indicated from my last molasses post, I’ve got molasses on the brain. First it was treacle in baking, now it’s molasses…well, at least […]

Leave a Reply

