elvisbreakfastkatrina

Best Banana Muffins I have ever made!

In Baking, Muffins on July 13, 2012 at 6:31 pm

This muffin may not look like much, but I can safely say my last batch of banana muffins were probably the most delicious that I’ve ever made. I wish they LOOKED more incredible, but there you go. I only slightly adapted the recipe which was for wholemeal flour from here. I ran out of wholemeal flour (or rather, discovered moths had infested it) so mine were made with ordinary flour. I’ve also taken to using treacle rather than golden or maple syrup, which I find is a delicious variant and provides a lovely richness to baking.

2 cups flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda, salt and cinnamon respectively

2 ripe bananas, mashed

2 large eggs, beaten

approx. half a cup of treacle

1/2 cup soft brown sugar

1/3 cup milk

1/4 vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla extract/essence

3/4 chopped nuts (I used walnuts, as pretty much anything else is too pricey for me)

Preheat oven to 190 degrees and prepare a muffin tray. I used a standard 12 muffin tray, but you could probably try other sizes. Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the bananas, eggs, milk, oil, vanilla essence, sugar and treacle. Mix into the dry ingredients, trying not to over stir – be aware that this is a fairly wet mixture! Add the chopped walnuts. Spoon batter into muffin tins and bake until an inserted skewer comes out clean, about 20-25 minutes. You won’t be disappointed!

I’m not usually in the habit of freezing my baking (it disappears so fast!) but these can be frozen. I just tried it for the first time! Pretty decent actually.

Leave a Reply

