elvisbreakfastkatrina

Poached Egg in Tomato with Chickpeas and Cheese

In Egg, Main meals on June 3, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Apologies for the lag between now and the last post. The intersemester ‘break’ has started therefore there’s even more potential for cooking procrastination – which hopefully means more posts! I made this for breakfast this morning, but am also planning on making gnocchi this afternoon. I am having guests around to dinner tomorrow evening so if all goes well, we shall feast on gnocchi and some sort of pumpkin dessert. I can’t decide between pumpkin pie or pumpkin spice bread – anyway, that is tomorrow’s problem!

I’ve decided to try and branch out a bit more with my recipes and be a little more experimental. I saw this recipe on Bon Appetit and there is also a similar one on Smitten Kitchen. I loved the sound of it, but wanted to adapt the recipe to be suitable for just one person. That said, a generous portion for one person – I enjoy a hearty breakfast! I had most of the ingredients that the recipe called for, but adapted the rest – and cooking utensils – to what I had on hand.

Generous splash olive oil, approx. 1/4 cup

1 medium onion, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, finely diced

1 jalapeno, deseeded and finely chopped

1 medium can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 tsp ground cumin

2 tsp smoked paprika

1 can tomatoes – I used crushed and sieved, but I guess you could do it with most variations on canned tomatoes, provided they are crushed not whole. (Or if they are whole, crush them yourself)

Salt and pepper

Handful crumbled soft cheese – I used Whangaripo Valley Buffalo Fresca

1 egg

1 tbsp chopped flat leaf parsley

1 tbsp chopped coriander

Now, this recipe is essentially a one dish recipe and is meant to be cooked in an ovenproof skillet. Sadly, I still do not own an ovenproof skillet, so had to use a pan and a souffle dish, of all things! It worked fine, but if you do own a skillet I think cooking it in a skillet would be much easier.

Preheat oven to 220 degrees celsius/425 farenheit. Heat oil in either a pan or a ovenproof skillet over med-high heat. Add onion, garlic, jalapeno and cook, stirring occasionally, until the onion is soft. Add the drained chickpeas, cumin and paprika. Cook for a few more minutes, then add the can of tomatoes. Stir for about 10 minutes until thickened slightly and season with salt and pepper.

[Now, this was the point where I had to transfer my sauce into the souffle dish. I thought it best to keep the souffle dish heated, so I left it in the oven. Of course, when I took the dish out of the 220 degree oven and poured in my sauce – the sauce sizzled and splattered (not all over the kitchen though, it could have been much worse) which is why in the photographs the dish has sauce splattered around the rim.

Anyway, if you are using two dishes like me – I suggest warming up your second dish, but maybe take it out of the oven a few minutes before transferring the sauce so it can cool a little. Transfer sauce to second dish. Obviously, if you are using a skillet – ignore all this.]

Crumble the soft cheese into the sauce and crack open an egg on the top. Put back in the hot oven and let egg cook until just set  – about 5-8 minutes. Remove from oven and top with the chopped parsley and coriander and tuck in!

One last thing; despite trying to adapt the recipe for one, I still had a little bit of sauce leftover – which I will probably end up eating over toast with more fresca. Because I needed to open tins of the tomatoes and chickpeas, I didn’t see the point of not using the whole can – but I’m sure if you used only half a can of each as well as slightly smaller dish, then it would work out to be decent portion for one person without leftovers.

Leave a Reply

