elvisbreakfastkatrina

Cornbread with Cheese & Chillies

In Baking, Bread, Cheese on May 19, 2012 at 8:00 pm

Today I woke up with a craving for cornbread – or rather, I’ve had the craving for a while and today was my very delayed gratification. I also had some red chillies sitting around in my fridge drawer, so when I saw the ‘Tex Mex style’ variant on my bread book’s cornbread recipe, I was sold. I didn’t have a proper cast iron skillet to cook it (in my dreams) but I made do with my trusty black ceramic dish – which gave it a lovely round shape for cutting into delicious spicy chunks. I served mine with Olivani and tomato relish for a bit of extra bite – YUM.

30 g butter, melted

150 g fine cornmeal or maize meal

150g plain flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp caster sugar or granulated sugar

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs, beaten

150 ml buttermilk

150 ml milk

2 jalapeno chillies, deseeded and chopped

125 g grated cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 220 degrees celsius/425 Farenheit. Prepare a 23 cm skillet according to skillet instructions (or if you are me, your ceramic round dish).

Stir the cornmeal, flour. baking powder, baking soda, sugar and salt together in a bowl until thoroughly combined. Make a well in the centre. Whisk together eggs, buttermilk and milk in a separate bowl and add melted butter.

Pour wet mixture into dry ingredients, use spatula to fold in until combined. Try not to overmix as this can make the bread heavy! Add the cheese and the chillies.

Spoon the batter into prepared skillet or dish and bake for 20-25 minutes until well risen (I think mine needed a bit longer than this). Leave to cool briefly on a wire rack, then cut into wedges and serve warm.

  1. hello! re the cast iron skillet, you can get sets of 3 at briscoes for less than $20 when they have sales. that’s what we did, and we actually haven’t used anything that’s not cast iron for about a year now. ADORE IT. briscoes also has rather decent griddles and woks in cast iron. and the standard le creuset rip-offs. they’re all pretty basic but my goodness, they do a great job.

    • Hmmm….I might definitely have to consider it, though the kitchen in my flat is already somewhat bursting at the seams. We do have a very old skillet, but it has a wooden handle so you can’t put it in the oven. Man, can’t wait until I have my OWN kitchen so I can outfit myself properly….

Leave a Reply

