elvisbreakfastkatrina

Rhubarb Streusel Muffins

In Baking, Muffins on April 22, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Seriously, I promise that eventually I will stop recreating Smitten Kitchen dishes and avoiding writing out recipes. But she just has too many fantastic recipes! I want to make them ALL. You can find the recipe for these muffins here.

But, moving on. I was given some rhubarb by my grandmother a while ago when I visited her during my Easter holidays. I took some time deciding what to do with it (plus, I lost it for a short period in our rather overly full fridge) before settling on muffins. I love muffins for their practical function as tasty breakfast or as a comforting afternoon/late night snack. I’ve also never cooked with rhubarb before so the end result was a pleasant surprise. The muffins are not too sweet – the rhubarb gives them a slightly sour flavour, which is offset nicely by the streusel topping.

I made them rather quickly last night and only photographed them this morning, hence why the image quality is a bit grainy. My apologies!

  1. I am crazy cakes for rhubarb, I have little seedlings of it on my windowsill at the moment! The very best is to stew it and then have it with porridge. Gosh. Heaven.

Leave a Reply

