elvisbreakfastkatrina

Fig, Lemon, Ginger & Cinnamon Jam/Preserve

In Pickles & Preserves on April 6, 2012 at 3:11 am

I was given a whole bunch of ripe figs – by two different people – and didn’t really know what to do with them. Figs are not something I usually eat fresh – and these were getting to the point of going off. So I decided to make some jam/preserve with them, but couldn’t find a recipe I liked online…so I just sort of made one up!

Basically, I peeled and chopped the figs (maybe about 8-10 ripe ones) along with two lemons (cut into slices, then the rind and pith cut off). I then combined half a cup of sugar along with the juice of one lemon in a saucepan, and heated until liquid and the sugar dissolved. I added the figs and lemons to this mixture, along with a generous pinch of ginger and a cinnamon stick. I brought the mixture to the boil, then let it simmer and reduce down for about an hour. Once thick enough, I put it into a sterilized jar. I had just enough for one jar and a little bowl for the leftovers – which is what is shown here. The resulting jam/preserve is lovely and tart – which is why I don’t want to label it as a jam….I tried eating it with cheese and it was beautiful. I’d definitely be keen to try this again!

Leave a Reply

