elvisbreakfastkatrina

Potato Knishes

In Baking, Snacks on March 22, 2012 at 8:06 am

Potato Knish!

I have recently become obsessed with this blog, Smitten Kitchen. Pretty much all the food on it is amazing, but when I saw the post about Potato Knishes, I knew I had to give them a try. I have to admit, I was not acquainted with them before reading the blog (I’m a New Zealander, ok) but now I am definitely a fan. How can you resist the fatty carbohydratey goodness????!! Especially as now we are moving into wintery weather here. I’m not going to post the recipe, because you really have to read the original – just click on the word potato knishes above. I don’t have a printer, so I vaguely wrote down the dough recipe and chucked a few potatoes to boil and caramelized some onions (red, not brown – and  left them in the pan for about 40 mins) but I was pretty happy with the result – even if they aren’t as gorgeous as the original. It’s a good sign that even though it’s the same day I made them, there’s only two left. Don’t ask how many I ate!

  1. I saw that recipe too, and am planning to make them but you beat me to it.
    Yours are GORGEOUS! How big did you make them?

    • Hmmm, I guess….just under palm size? Whenever I see imperial measurements I phase out and just vaguely follow the recipe doing what looks good……

      • yeah fair enough. that sounds like a good size … when she was talking about how big the original ones were i was a bit frightened.

Leave a Reply

