elvisbreakfastkatrina

Apple & Cheese Loaf

In Baking, Bread, Cheese on March 18, 2012 at 12:09 pm

This was rather an experimental piece of baking. I bought some beautiful stilton cheese at Farro which came  inside a lovely ceramic pot. Fortunately for me, it was on sale at half price because it was near its best before date! I also had a bunch of apples to use, so I decided to give an apple and cheese loaf a go using the Stilton. I think the recipe called for a more basic cheese, such as tasty or a light cheddar, but the results were pretty delicious, albeit the loaf wasn’t that beautiful to look at – and I ended up having to rebake it because the middle was a bit too gooey. But I’d still call it a success as it was eaten entirely the same day it was baked! Vegetable and fruit loaves really do have that amazing moist and gritty texture that is just too hard to resist.

I won’t post the recipe, but if anyone wants it then I will. In the meantime, be jealous of my cute Stilton pot!

I really am going to try and post more frequently, but my life has been incredibly busy and demanding of late 😦

Leave a Reply

