elvisbreakfastkatrina

Handmade Ricotta

In Cheese, Farm products on January 26, 2012 at 7:51 am

I took advantage of having access to beautiful creamy milk straight from the vat to make my first batch of handmade ricotta. It was a huge success, and I will definitely be making it frequently in future. It’s about the same price as buying it or cheaper, and it’s lovely to have it fresh. And easy! I will be using it when I make more ravioli, and attempt tortelli – which I will be posting about soon.

Creating a curd

Muslin is tied around wooden spoon and strained

Ricotta, after being drained

Ricotta - ready to use and enjoy!

  1. i literally just looked up how to make ricotta this morning. do you use buttermilk as well as regular milk?

  2. […] garden – washed and shredded. I removed the pan from the heat, then added what was left of my handmade ricotta – about 100-150g? I completed the filling with about 90g of prima donna maturo – grated […]

Leave a Reply

