elvisbreakfastkatrina

Relishing in the garden!

In Garden, Pickles & Preserves on January 23, 2012 at 1:13 am

SPOILER! Haha, yes this post is about making relish. See below for recipe

I’ve been giving my garden a good clearout. I’ve just got a tiny bit left to weed and then I’m planting my new crops – cabbage (lionheart), broccoli (midget), fennel and butter beans. I’ve planted cabbage and broccoli before and they did really well my first year, last year they were a dud. Hopefully I’ll get lucky this year. I planted fennel last year and it did well, and was a real treat. Butter beans will hopefully do well on my willow trellis.

I took out leeks, and the one decent courgette my plants have produced so far:

Leeks and my lone courgette

I also have a serious abundance of tomatoes, as I mentioned in an earlier post. I was weighing up what to do with them – many exciting options! Chutney, pasta sauce, passata and relish. My lovely friend Theresa gave me some chillis from the place she works in Waiuku, so I settled on making relish. I just used the recipe from the good old Edmonds cookbook. Here it is:

12 large tomatoes (or substitute 1 large for 2 small ones) – peeled

4 large onions

25g salt (approx.)

500g brown sugar

vinegar

1 tbsp mustard

1 tbsp curry powder

2 tbsp flour

3 chillis

1. The first step (which is not included in the Edmonds cookbook) is to peel the tomatoes. My method is to slice a cross on the bottom of all the tomatoes. Place in a large bowl and cover with boiling water. Leave for 3 mins. Remove from bowl with slotted spool and plunge into a large bowl of cold water. Once all have been plunged leave for a couple of mins to cool. After that you should be able to peel them easily, using the cross cut of the bottom to pull from.

2. Once that is done, cut the tomatoes into four pieces, more for the larger ones if you think it necessary. Slice the onions into small chunks. Lay out, sprinkle with salt and leave overnight.

3. Next day, pour off the liquid and place the tomatoes and onions into a large saucepan along with the sugar and the chillis. Add enough vinegar to cover. Bring to the boil. Simmer 1 1/2 hours until reduced down.

Early stage of reducing down

4. Mix flour, mustard and curry powder with a little vinegar to make a smooth paste. Add to the mixture and boil 5 mins. Once combined, you could blend with a stick blender if desired. I decided to blend mine rather than leaving it very chunky (even blended, it’s still kinda chunky)

5. Pour into sterilized jars and seal tightly.

Relish! And more tomatoes ripening for the next batch...

Also, don’t you just love the jar? They were on special at Pak’N’Save this week for $2 and I just couldn’t resist. I still have one spare for the next batch of preserves – whether I make more relish or whether I go for chutney next time. I can’t wait!

  1. the edmonds tomato relish recipe is the best. i have honestly never had a better one … also, have you tried the anathoth tomato relish? they definitely at least base it on that recipe.

  2. […] left it to cool a little before before cutting. I devoured my (very generous) slice with some of my homemade tomato relish. Pie fresh out of the oven! Pie – with my epic slice removed! I was very excited by how well the […]

Leave a Reply

