elvisbreakfastkatrina

Rice Croquettes/ Suppli di Riso

In Cheese, Entertaining, Main meals, Rice, Snacks on January 20, 2012 at 12:07 am

I’ve actually run out of bandwidth this month, so will probably be paying penalties in my next phone bill ($2 per GB) but oh well. It’s the holidays, and I’ve been much worse about posting than I wanted to be.

I’ve been wanting to make croquettes since last Christmas, when I found a recipe for pear shaped potato croquettes. I’ve still never made those, but the recipe for these croquettes comes from that beautiful regional Italian cookbook I keep talking about. They are simple (albeit messy) to make, and delicious as they come! I think they would make a good entree or party starter, as they can be served hot out of the deep fryer, or else at room temperature.

According to the blurb in the cookbook, Rice Croquettes or Suppli di Riso are “one of the favourite dishes in Latium. The croquettes are also typical of Sicily where they are known as ‘arancini di riso’ (rice oranges). They may be round or oval in shape, and are excellent for picnics and parties.”

Ingredients:

2 tbsp butter

1 2/3 cup short grain rice, preferably arborio

3 generous cups of vegetable broth/stock

6 tbsp grated parmesan (I omitted this, as can’t afford to buy parmesan currently)

salt and pepper

1 egg yolk, beaten

185g cheese, diced (I used left over cheese slices)

1 egg, beaten

1 1/2 cup fine breadcrumbs

oil for deep frying (or just use your deep fryer, like I did)

1. Melt butter in sauce pan and fry over high heat for a few minutes. Bring stock to the boil in another saucepan. Add it to the rice a little at a time (over med-low heat), stirring until absorbed for about 15 mins. Add parmesan, season and turn onto a board for rice to cool.

2. When rice is cold, thoroughly mix in the egg yolk. Form rice into balls with your hands, roughly the size of an egg. Push a hole in the centre and stuff with cheese. Close off with more rice if necessary. Roll ball in egg yolk, then in breadcrumbs.

3. Either heat oil in saucepan for deep frying, or use your deep fryer on the 190 degree setting. Drop balls in oil and deep fry until golden brown. Drain on paper towels. Balls can be served immediately or eaten at room temperature.

(Note: Deep fryers always look a bit gross, but I can assure mine is actually pretty decent and not as dirty as it looks)

Hehe, the last one I made was a bit bigger than the rest....

Hmmm….speaking of deep fried things. These resemble the deep fried ice cream ball I ate yesterday at the Waiuku Fish and Chip shop with my friend Theresa (which was delicious by the way) – perhaps that was a subconscious influence when I decided to make these today?

  1. You’re the last person on earth I would’ve expected to have a deep fryer. But there you go! These look an awful lot like something I tried once and have a recipe for called Arancini balls.

  2. Arancini are the Sicilian version. I love the deep fryer! I inherited it because so many older family members were trying to get rid of theirs. Think I was offered two. It’s very useful; some things just need a deep fryer in order to be cooked properly – like donuts!! And samosas. Also, this way you can fry in Kremelta rather than oil.

  3. […] with my saffron posts, here is a recipe for a delicious snack/main meal which is very similar to a post I made a while back about suppli, except that here we have the Sicilian variation […]

Leave a Reply

