elvisbreakfastkatrina

(Smoked) Salmon Quiche with Potato Pastry

In Baking, Cheese, Egg, Entertaining, Main meals, Pastry on January 15, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Salmon Quiche with Potato Pastry

Most of my friends think of me as a vegetarian…and I was even a vegan for several years…but little by little I’ve revised my eating habits, and now I do eat meat in certain circumstances from time to time. I now will eat fish and seafood, and will eat other meat provided I know it comes from a humane source (i.e. my parents farm, or something people have caught – like game). Still, I am quite new to cooking with meat but I am gradually getting there! I hope. I think this is my first post that is non-Vegetarian.

Anyway, I have always been a big fan of quiche and don’t make them anyway near enough. They are perfect lunch food and can fill up your stomach without making you feel bloated and heavy. I didn’t use smoked salmon for this (because that’s not really student food) but instead used tinned wild salmon that was on special at Pak’n’Save a few weeks ago. Big cans for $1.99 – score!

Like a lot of my recipes, it comes from beloved ‘Comfort Food’ recipe book, which continues to serve me well. If you like the sort of food I post about, consider this book an investment!

Lets get started!

Ingredients – pastry:

115g floury potatoes, diced

2 cups plain flour

115g/8 tbsp butter, diced (or I just used 8 tbsp Olivani)

1 egg

Ingredients – filling:

275g smoked salmon (or tinned salmon)

6 eggs, beaten

150ml/ 2/3 cup milk

300ml/ 1 1/2 cups cream

2-3 tbsp dill (I used chives instead)

2 tbsp capers

salt and pepper, to season

1. Boil the potatoes in a large pan of boiling water (salted if you wish, I forgot to salt mine) until tender, about 15 mins. Drain well and return to the pan. Mash the potatoes until smooth and set aside to cool completely.

2. Place the butter in a bowl and rub the butter in with your fingers until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Beat in the potatoes and an egg. Bring the mixture together with your hands. You can add a tiny bit of chilled water if you need to, but I found that this wasn’t necessary. Work to pastry consistency.

3. Roll pastry onto flat surface until flat enough to line a 23 cm quiche or pie dish (fluted preferably). The recipe says one with a loose base is required, but I just used a trusty ceramic pie dish and it was fine. One in pan, chill for at least an hour.

4. Preheat oven to 200 degrees celsius. If using cooked salmon, chop into bite sized pieces and set aside. If using tinned, empty from can and make sure there are no bones in it (there were in my tin!).

5. Beat the eggs, milk and cream together, then add fresh chopped herbs, capers and the salmon. Season.

6. Remove pastry from fridge and prick base all over with a fork. Pour in the mixture and bake in the oven 35-45 minutes, until set and golden. Done!

The quality control, taste testing slice!

Sliced up and ready to serve!

  1. so pretty! my hatred of tinned salmon is problematic … but i must try the pastry, it looks fantastic!

    • Yea, it’s great…and you don’t need to alter the proportions for the pastry at all. I always find myself changing pastry recipes because the mixture isn’t the perfect consistency, but this one came together beautifully! And if you are adverse to the tinned, you can get smoked salmon offcuts relatively cheaply – or rather, it’s a affordable splurge 😉

  2. […] Smoked Salmon Quiche with Potato Pastry Crust from Elvis Breakfast […]

Leave a Reply

